FIRS introduces new Large Tax Office Non-Oil in Apapa

For amounts payable to the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS), the relevant tax office of a taxpayer depends on four (4) factors. They are the nature of the industry, location, residency status, and turnover of the business. FIRS may assign a company to a tax office in a different local government area from the taxpayer’s corporate address. A good comparison is a non-oil company and a manufacturing business. Non-oil companies with NGN1 billion and above turnover are required to file their corporate tax returns at the nearest large tax office (LTO). However, manufacturing and conglomerates in Lagos State file tax returns at the LTO Non-Oil, Ikeja. A good understanding of FIRS mapping of taxpayers based on segment comes in handy when a business wants to know the appropriate tax office.

FIRS has created another Large Tax Office Non-Oil in Apapa, Lagos state, to improve the ease of paying taxes. The new LTO is situated at No. 22 Warehouse Road, Apapa, and started operations on 15 May 2020. LTO Apapa is not for all businesses in the local government area. Rather, the office will serve all companies in Lagos state with annual revenue of above NGN2 billion in the following categories:

  • Domestic aviation companies 
  • Construction companies 
  • Domestic shipping companies 
  • Logistics, haulage and transportation companies 
  • Concessionaires at the Lagos ports

Henceforth, these taxpayers must file income tax returns and submit correspondence at the LTO Apapa.

The essence of the new Large Tax Office (Non-Oil) in Apapa?

Apapa is a Local Government Area in Lagos State with different ports and terminals which are administered by the Nigerian Ports Authority. It is also a commercial hub for cross border trade in Nigeria. Shipping, haulage, logistics, clearing, and transportation companies have a strong presence in Apapa compared to other local government areas. Overall, the LTO Non-Oil Apapa will allow FIRS to improve service delivery to the defined set of taxpayers.

Share this